Privacy Checkup: review your Google privacy settings - gHacks Tech News

Privacy Checkup: review your Google privacy settings

Privacy Checkup is a free tool by Google that lets you review and adjust privacy and account related Google Account settings.

Basically, it enables you to verify that the information that is revealed about you on the Internet matches your expectation.

To get started with Google's Privacy Checkup tool, visit this web page on the official Google My Account website.

Please note that you need to sign in to a Google Account before you can use the tool. It displays a short description of what is has been designed for on start, and a "start now" button to get started with the review.

Google Privacy Checkup

Google privacy checkup

The tool walks you through the following six steps, each with one or more preferences or options.

  1. Choose what Google+ profile information you share with others
  2. Help people connect with you
  3. Manage what you share on YouTube
  4. Manage your Google Photos settings
  5. Personalize your Google experience
  6. Make ads more relevant to you

 

Choose what Google+ profile information you share with others

This step is about the Google profile and the information it contains that are visible to others. It allows you to take a look at the public profile to review the information that is publicly visible currently, and to edit what others see about you.

For instance, you may disable tabs like photos or reviews on your public profile to hide them, or edit your shared endorsement setting.

Shared Endorsement refers to your activities, e.g. reviews or likes, being used throughout Google products and services.

Google sometimes displays your reviews, recommendations and other relevant activity throughout its products and services. This may include shopping contexts, like the Google Play music store, and ads. Your profile name and profile photo may appear with your activity.

Help people connect with you

You are asked to review the connected phone number -- if there is any -- in this step, and decide whether others may use it to find you across Google services. Additionally, you may enable or disable the option that helps others find you by name, photo or other information that you have made visible on Google.

Manage what you share on YouTube

privacy checkup youtube

The third step is only relevant if YouTube is being used. Review how likes and subscriptions are handled on the site (private or public), whether you want your YouTube activity to show up automatically in your channel feed, and review privacy settings for videos and playlists.

Manage your Google Photos settings

You may configure Google Photos to remove geo-location information automatically when they are shared via links.

It needs to be noted that this setting affects only photos shared by link, and not all the photos that you upload to Google Photos or make available using the service.

Personalize your Google experience

The next step allows you to control activity, history and device information, and whether they are recorded by Google or not.

You may enable or disable the following controls in this step:

  1. Web & App Activity.
  2. Location History.
  3. Device Information.
  4. Voice & Audio Activity.
  5. YouTube Search History.
  6. YouTube Watch History.

Make ads more relevant to you

The last step enables you to manage your ad settings, and here specifically whether interest-based ads are turned on or off.

Closing Words

It takes a couple of minutes to review your Google Privacy settings using the Privacy Checkup tool and it may be very well worth the time.

If you have made modifications in the past, you will notice that they are reflected by the tool already so that you can skip them after verifying that they have not changed.

Privacy Checkup is but one of the several services that Google makes available to its users. You may also want to check out the new Account management page and the About Me page.

Now You: How often do you verify privacy settings of important accounts?

Summary
Google Privacy Checkup: review your privacy settings
Article Name
Google Privacy Checkup: review your privacy settings
Description
Privacy Checkup is an online tool that Google has created that Google users can make use of to review their accounts visibility on the Internet.
Author
Publisher
Ghacks Technology News
Logo
Advertisement

We need your help

Advertising revenue is falling fast across the Internet, and independently-run sites like Ghacks are hit hardest by it. The advertising model in its current form is coming to an end, and we have to find other ways to continue operating this site.

We are committed to keeping our content free and independent, which means no paywalls, no sponsored posts, no annoying ad formats or subscription fees.

If you like our content, and would like to help, please consider making a contribution:


Previous Post: «
Next Post: »

Comments

  1. Maelish said on February 3, 2016 at 4:03 pm
    Reply

    Doesn’t this process also convert you to Google+ if you aren’t already?

    1. Jeff said on February 3, 2016 at 4:15 pm
      Reply

      No. Google has pretty much stopped forcing G+ on people. They even disassociated it from Youtube.

  2. Arie said on February 3, 2016 at 5:01 pm
    Reply

    What does it mean?

    It needs to be noted that this setting affects only photos shared by link, and not all the photos that you upload to Google Photos or make available using the service.

    1. Martin Brinkmann said on February 3, 2016 at 5:15 pm
      Reply

      It means that Google will remove geo-location information only of photos that you share but not of all photos that you upload to the service.

  3. S0215 said on February 3, 2016 at 7:35 pm
    Reply

    For more regular users, try the following:
    * Check out d changes you made regularly
    * Google as an un-logged in GG account/user with non-Chrome browser. EXAMPLE is, use Bing or other non-GG options to search, Vimeo to watch videos, etc.
    * Try using other search engines like DuckDuckGo
    * Enable the private browsing always
    * Clean temp files in time;
    * use a valid VPN service provider.

    1. Rocky said on February 3, 2016 at 9:34 pm
      Reply

      @SO215
      At least Google is making it reasonably easy to access some at least of the privacy settings . Your suggestions are all good ones – just try convincing the ” average user”

  4. Adrian said on March 15, 2016 at 11:29 pm
    Reply

    How do I stop the privacy tool from coming up every time I access the google internet browser ? I find it very annoying. Any suggestion would be appreciated.

    1. Mike said on July 8, 2017 at 7:11 am
      Reply

      How many friendly- Users are associated with and how often your account settings have been changed is a direct reason for the cause occurrence.

  5. Anonymous said on May 22, 2018 at 5:44 pm
    Reply

    I want to stop it not use it

    1. Anonymous said on June 1, 2018 at 4:09 am
      Reply

      I agree with anonymous. I don’t want to use it. I don’t want to sign into Google. I don’t even have an account and I don’t want one.

Leave a Reply

Check the box to consent to your data being stored in line with the guidelines set out in our privacy policy

Please note that your comment may not appear immediately after you post it.