This File Appears To Be Malicious, Google Chrome Safe Browsing Protection - gHacks Tech News

This File Appears To Be Malicious, Google Chrome Safe Browsing Protection

Chrome users on the developer channel or Canary will see download warnings if they try to download a file on a website that matches the list of malicious websites published by Google's Safe Browsing Api. The warning reads "This file appears to be malicious. Are you sure you want to continue" with options to discard and save. The options may cause quite the confusion among users, and it would probably have been better if Google would have simply added Yes and No buttons to the prompt

Another thing to remember is that all downloads of said websites will be flagged, regardless whether they are indeed malicious or dangerous in nature, or not. All downloads? Well that is not entirely right, at least not for now. Google flags all Windows executable downloads as suspicious if the site is on the Safe Browsing list. No warning is currently displayed for other files. These files are not actually scanned by Google, keep that in mind if the warning message pops up.

this file appears to be malicious

Safe Browsing is used by Google Search, and various web browsers to warn users when they visit web pages or sites that have been flagged.

Safe Browsing has done a lot of good for the web, yet the Internet remains rife with deceptive and harmful content. It’s easy to find sites hosting free downloads that promise one thing but actually behave quite differently. These downloads may even perform actions without the user’s consent, such as displaying spam ads, performing click fraud, or stealing other users’ passwords. Such sites usually don’t attempt to exploit vulnerabilities on the user’s computer system. Instead, they use social engineering to entice users to download and run the malicious content.

The feature has already been implemented into Google Chrome dev and Canary, and Google plans to release it at a later time for the beta and stable branches as well. It is not clear yet if Linux and Mac users will see the warning messages as well, chance is they will. (via)

Advertisement

We need your help

Advertising revenue is falling fast across the Internet, and independently-run sites like Ghacks are hit hardest by it. The advertising model in its current form is coming to an end, and we have to find other ways to continue operating this site.

We are committed to keeping our content free and independent, which means no paywalls, no sponsored posts, no annoying ad formats or subscription fees.

If you like our content, and would like to help, please consider making a contribution:


Previous Post: «
Next Post: »

Comments

  1. Nebulus said on April 6, 2011 at 3:40 pm
    Reply

    For me it’s just a new step towards censorship. I don’t need my browser to tell me what’s good for me. I still have my brain and my security software for that.

    1. Aaron Yarlas said on April 6, 2011 at 11:20 pm
      Reply

      I don’t really follow your reasoning that it’s censorship if your browser software tells you not to download something, but it’s not censorship if your security software tells you not to download it. It’s not like the browser is rejecting it based on the content of some message; it’s just doing a rule-based selection in the same manner that most security software does. Certainly it sounds like it’s not making very good decisions, but it’s hardly an issue of whether it’s censorship or not.

Leave a Reply

Check the box to consent to your data being stored in line with the guidelines set out in our privacy policy

Please note that your comment may not appear immediately after you post it.