Whenever you search on Facebook, information about that search is saved in a search history that Facebook maintains for all of its users. While you don't get access directly to the storage, you get the next best thing.
The information is displayed in the activity log, a mix of first and third party information related to your account either directly (things you did on Facebook) or indirectly (things others linked you with on Facebook).
As far as the recording of searches is concerned: those are only visible to you, for instance when you click on the search form on the site in form of recent searches on Facebook.
It is possible to delete your search history on Facebook to remove all past searches from it. This can be useful if others have or demand access to your Facebook account (a jealous significant other for example) or if you want to start with a clean slate and remove recent searches suggested to you.
To remove your searches on Facebook using a desktop system, do the following:
When you click on the clear searches link, a confirmation prompt is displayed.
Are you sure? Your search history helps us show you better results when you search. Remember, only you can see your searches.
You need to click on clear searches again to remove the searches from Facebook.
The search page should show up blank after the operation as all searches have been removed from the history and no recent history is shown when you search on Facebook.
The activity log on Facebook is a great location to control your account as it displays information about your actions on Facebook but also when others included you in their actions on the site.Advertisement
Ghacks is a technology news blog that was founded in 2005 by Martin Brinkmann. It has since then become one of the most popular tech news sites on the Internet with five authors and regular contributions from freelance writers.