Facebook Password Reset Confirmation Scam - gHacks Tech News

Facebook Password Reset Confirmation Scam

Popular software programs and online services are more likely to be targeted by malicious users than less popular services.

Facebook is currently the most popular social networking service on the Internet, and security experts are noticing increased attacks on the network and its users.

Several security companies are currently warning users of Facebook about a widespread scam that is targeting Facebook users per email.

The attackers are currently sending out emails that claim that Facebook has changed the user account password, and that a new password has been attached to the document in the email.

Facebook Password Reset Confirmation! Customer Support

Dear user of Facebook,

Because of the measures taken to provide safety to our clients, your password has been changed.
You can find your new password in attached document.

Thanks,
The Facebook Team.

Experienced users realize quickly that the email is a scam. There are several indicators for this.

Indicators are the non personal tone of the message (no name is mentioned in the email), the email file attachment that it contains, and the fact that Facebook will never create a new user password and attach it to emails.

Both McAfee and Sophos have published warnings about the scam. The attachment's name is Facebook_details_.zip. It contains a trojan and should therefore not be opened by users. McAfee reports that the trojan steals computer passwords from the PC when it is executed and not blocked by security software.

Facebook users should take a look at our Facebook Login security information for further tips on how to improve the security on the network.

Update: If you receive such an email, one of the things that you can do to prove its legitimacy is to visit Facebook and try to log in to your account. If it works, you know that the email is a scam and can delete it outright.

Another option that you have is to ask Facebook about it. Click on the small down arrow in the top bar and select Report a Problem. Use the dialog that opens up to notify Facebook about the email and ask if it is legitimate while on the Facebook website.

Ultimately, you should never open file attachments unless you know the sender personally, or are expecting an attachment. Even then, it is better to be save than sorry and have the attachment checked out on a service like Virustotal before opening it.

Summary
Facebook Password Reset Confirmation Scam
Article Name
Facebook Password Reset Confirmation Scam
Description
Security researches uncovered a new attack targeting the social networking site Facebook that is spread via malicious email messages.
Author
Publisher
Ghacks Technology News
Logo
Advertisement

We need your help

Advertising revenue is falling fast across the Internet, and independently-run sites like Ghacks are hit hardest by it. The advertising model in its current form is coming to an end, and we have to find other ways to continue operating this site.

We are committed to keeping our content free and independent, which means no paywalls, no sponsored posts, no annoying ad formats or subscription fees.

If you like our content, and would like to help, please consider making a contribution:


Previous Post: «
Next Post: »

Comments

  1. WayneW said on March 18, 2010 at 8:48 pm
    Reply

    Yeah, got one of these emails yesterday. Knew it was BS, but there are ALWAYS some that go for it.
    Wish it was easier to prosecute this scum. The ones it is possible to catch should be made examples of.

  2. Ivan Kolevski said on March 19, 2010 at 5:06 am
    Reply

    Wow, you can tell this is scam, yet people still think is legit. Why? because they do not read carefully !!!
    I think how to geek has a guide to email scam.

  3. Pat Murphy said on March 19, 2010 at 11:02 am
    Reply

    Knew this was a scam but how come my Norton 360 Anti-virus didn’t highlight it?

    1. WayneW said on March 19, 2010 at 4:03 pm
      Reply

      Because this affects/infects your brain (or lack thereof) instead of your computer. There is no anti-malware for human behavior. In simple terms, there is no cure for stupid.

      1. Pat Murphy said on March 20, 2010 at 2:09 am
        Reply

        Thanks Wayne but you still have not explained why Nortom 360 didn’t detect this.

    2. WayneW said on March 20, 2010 at 2:49 am
      Reply

      I guess the stars just weren’t aligned.

  4. pixx said on March 19, 2010 at 7:52 pm
    Reply

    I recieved one today and it is said to be sent by customer@facebook.com

  5. Harel said on March 20, 2010 at 7:35 pm
    Reply

    A good tip is to create a strong password, and not to believe at all the mails you get although it is from a company you know.
    I am using http://www.sbsh.net/apps/safewallet its help me remember and generate passwords, it is great, give it a try

  6. Chaston said on April 28, 2010 at 1:25 am
    Reply

    My email quarantine program at work just notified me of a quarantined message from “networks@facebook.com” that had a subject line of “Facebook Password Reset Confirmation! Support Message.” It was received on 4/26/2010 at 4:54 pm MST.

    I have no Facebook Account/Page at this time nor have I ever in the past. This is obviously fraudulent. I though you all should know and please, pass the word on.

Leave a Reply

Check the box to consent to your data being stored in line with the guidelines set out in our privacy policy

Please note that your comment may not appear immediately after you post it.