How To Reload Previous Firefox Sessions
You can configure the Firefox web browser to reload the last session on start up. That's a custom setting that you need to configure under Menu > Options >General. Select Restore Previous Session to make the change.
When you do that, the browser opens all tabs that you had open the last time you quit the browser when you start it.
On my computer, it seems to load the last open window more often than not, which can be attributed to the fact that you can only close one window at a time. If you'd kill the Firefox process, or have the browser restarted automatically, you'd probably end up with all windows being opened again as well.
Tip: You can exit Firefox with the keyboard shortcut Ctrl-Shift-Q or by selecting Menu > Exit.
It has happened in the past on my system, that Firefox would not load the session. The browser instead displayed the selected homepage with no sign of the tabs that were open in the last session
Firefox comes with options to restore the windows and tabs of a previous browsing session.
You can access the listing in the following way:
- Tap on the Alt-key to display the menu bar in the Firefox browser.
- Select History > Recently Closed Windows.
There you find the windows listed that were open previously in Firefox; you may also see a "restore previous session" option right there. When you click on one of the sessions, the whole window with all of its tabs gets restored.
If the session is not listed, try manual restoration of the Firefox browsing session.
Remember that the information is only displayed if you do not clear your browsing history on exit. If you have configured Firefox to do that, you won't be able to restore sessions. This is handled by the browsing history setting.
You can configure anything else for deletion, and still be able to restore sessions in the browser if you keep the browsing history. If you select to delete the browsing history, you cannot restore sessions. You will in fact notice right away that Firefox loads the selected home page when you do so.
You can however disable remember by browsing and download history on the main privacy options page without losing the functionality to restore sessions in the browser. Load about:preferences#privacy and check the History settings on the page to make sure that Firefox is not configured to delete the browsing history on exit. Feels kinda strange though if you ask me that clearance impacts session restore.
If you have very important sessions that you cannot afford to lose no matter what, you may want to consider upping the ante by installing an extension like Tab Session Manager which saves sessions independently.
Handy to avoid total disaster if the built-in session restore is not working correctly, or if you want the browsing history to be deleted on exit.Advertisement