Control who is allowed to add you to WhatsApp Groups - gHacks Tech News

ADVERTISEMENT

Control who is allowed to add you to WhatsApp Groups

WhatsApp's Group feature is quite handy to chat with a small to medium sized group of people; think of your local gaming group, parents whose children go to the same class, or smaller clubs that try to keep everyone informed about events and happenings.

One of the main issues up until now that WhatsApp users may have experienced when it comes to the Groups feature, was that anyone could add anyone to a group. If that sounds familiar to Facebook's handling of its Groups feature, you are not mistaken.

WhatsApp offered no option to limit the Groups feature to a user's list of contacts or specific contacts. Anyone could add you to a group and while you could leave it again or block the group admin to ensure that you are not added again, it usually meant that your phone number was exposed to the group in the meantime.

whatsapp block adding groups

The Facebook-owned company rolled out a new feature to the application's privacy settings in 2019 that provided users of the service with options to limit who could add a WhatsApp user to groups.

The default is still set to Everyone but it can now be changed. Here is how that is done:

  1. Open WhatsApp on your mobile device.
  2. Select Menu > Settings.
  3. In Settings, select Account > Privacy.
  4. Tap on the new "Groups" setting in the Privacy listing. WhatsApp displays three options:
    1. Everyone -- the default setting; means, everyone may add you to Groups.
    2. My Contacts -- limits the people who can add you to Groups to your contacts.
    3. My Contacts except -- limits the list of users further by excluding certain contacts.
  5. Select Done once you have made the change.

Selecting My Contacts or My Contacts except ensures that people that you don't have in your contacts list add you to Groups in WhatsApp.  It is still possible that private links are sent to you in WhatsApp with invitations to join a particular group. These expire automatically in 72 hours though.

WhatsApp seems to have removed the Nobody option that was available in previous versions. You may replicate it by selecting the "My contacts except" option and adding most or all of your contacts to the list of exceptions.

Closing Words

WhatsApp users who have been plagued by unwanted invited to Groups have now an option to block these invites in the future. All it takes is a quick change in the application's settings to limit the group adding permission to a user's contacts, part of contacts, or nobody.

Summary
Control who is allowed to add you to WhatsApp Groups
Article Name
Control who is allowed to add you to WhatsApp Groups
Description
Find out how to configure WhatsApp to block anyone but your contacts, or a subset of your contacts, to add you to WhatsApp Groups.
Author
Publisher
Ghacks Technology News
Logo
Advertisement

Previous Post: «
Next Post: »

Comments

  1. Yuliya said on December 16, 2019 at 1:29 pm
    Reply

    VK, Hangouts and RCS messaging (the Messages application on most Android devices is capable of chat features (x person is typing, uses WiFi or cellular data, send/receive media files, and uses your phone number; I assume everything goes through Google)).
    So yeah, I wouldn’t touch this thing if you were to pay me.

  2. John Fenderson said on December 16, 2019 at 6:01 pm
    Reply

    It’s too bad they don’t seem to have the most useful option — disallow everyone except for specified people.

  3. Anonymous said on December 16, 2019 at 8:24 pm
    Reply

    WhatsApp, the Facebook property ? No thanks. Instead of waiting for the next excuses from SugarMountain to learn that something nasty happened again, I’ll just skip this whole piece of excrement.

  4. Anonymous said on December 17, 2019 at 8:42 am
    Reply

    Now they just need to allow me to specify who those contacts are, without uploading that information to their servers…

Leave a Reply

Check the box to consent to your data being stored in line with the guidelines set out in our privacy policy

Please note that your comment may not appear immediately after you post it.