Display or clear Chrome Sync data on the Internet - gHacks Tech News

ADVERTISEMENT

Display or clear Chrome Sync data on the Internet

Chrome Sync is a feature of the Google Chrome browser that enables you to synchronize data with other Chrome installations. The feature requires a Google account and needs to be configured in Chrome first before it becomes available. To do that, you click on the settings icon on the top right of the browser bar and select sign in to Chrome from the context menu. You can alternatively load this internal page directly which opens the same page: chrome://signin/?source=2

You can start configuring the synchronization once you have successfully signed in to a Google account. Chrome can synchronize apps, extensions, settings, autofill data, Omnibox History, themes, bookmarks, passwords and open tabs. You do not need to synchronize everything, and can open the advanced sync settings to configure your syncing preferences. This is done with a click on the settings button, the selection of settings on the context menu, and a click on advanced sync settings on the settings page. It is alternatively again possible to open the page directly: chrome://chrome/settings/syncSetup

google chrome sync

Chrome syncs everything by default which you can change on the setup page. Here you can also choose to encrypt all data and not only passwords, and use a different passphrase for encrypting the data instead of the Google account password.

Chrome does not really provide you with information about the data that is currently synced using your Google account. To find out about that, you need to open the new Chrome Sync page on Google.

chrome sync

The page lists the amount of entries for every type of data that you synchronize with your account. While you can't access or display the data itself, it provides you with information about the data that Google has stored online.

The stop and clear button enables you to clear all of the synced data online and stop the synchronizing process at the same time. This may be useful if you are currently experiencing issues with Chrome sync, or want to disable the feature in the browser and make sure that all data that is stored on Google servers is deleted in the process.

Advertisement

Previous Post: «
Next Post: »

Comments

Leave a Reply

Check the box to consent to your data being stored in line with the guidelines set out in our privacy policy

Please note that your comment may not appear immediately after you post it.