Delete files permanently to block file recovery tools - gHacks Tech News

Delete files permanently to block file recovery tools

It is a well know fact that files that are deleted by users of the Windows operating system can be recovered by using so called file recovery utilities. The reason for this is that Windows does not delete the file contents on the computer's hard drive right away. Instead, it just enables write access to the space the file occupied and removes the file pointer as well so that you do not see that file anymore listed on your PC.

This may not be a problem for most users but it surely is not nice if you sell a used computer and someone discovers private pictures, account data and the like on that computer's hard drive. This can be the case even if you have deleted all files before selling it, or even if you have formatted all of the system's hard drives (using Quick Format for example). It is very important to make sure that all files that you do not want the new owner to access are removed in their entirety storage devices before you hand over the system.

Super Shredder by Analog X deletes files securely so that they can't be recovered by file recovery software. There are still ways to recover those files but the equipment needed is way to expensive for almost everyone. The tool supports common methods like Gutmann or Nispom (Departement of Defense) but also a way to completely customize the procedure.

Eraser is another tool which you can use and if you are interested in it check out our review of it.

eraser

Update: Super Shredder has been removed from the AnalogX website. We have uploaded the latest version of the program to our servers. Just click on the following download link to download the latest release version of the software program: [Download not found]

Please note that the program has not been updated for a while, and that you might want to use a different program like the aforementioned Eraser instead to ensure compatibility with your operating system.

Eraser uses a different methodology. Instead of making sure that individual files cannot be recovered anymore, it runs on all free disk space of a selected hard drive to make everything that was once stored there unrecoverable.

It goes without saying that you need to run Eraser regularly to make sure newly deleted files cannot be recovered as well. Eraser can be configured to run on schedule, which basically means that it will delete all file traces regularly.

We need your help

Advertising revenue is falling fast across the Internet, and independently-run sites like Ghacks are hit hardest by it. The advertising model in its current form is coming to an end, and we have to find other ways to continue operating this site.

We are committed to keeping our content free and independent, which means no paywalls, no sponsored posts, no annoying ad formats or subscription fees.

If you like our content, and would like to help, please consider making a contribution:

Comments

  1. Simon said on June 14, 2006 at 1:12 pm
    Reply

    I´am using Eraser for some time now and think it´s a great tool to delete files securely. I was not able to bring them back using file recovery tools.

  2. Dermot said on August 31, 2009 at 2:43 pm
    Reply

    I use Eraser all the time, but have found that when I go to recover the file itself, while I am not able to recover the contents of the file, I am able to see its name, and names of other files which I had on my drive but have erased. Is there a way to erase the names too, as well as making the file unrecoverable?

  3. Kevin said on December 7, 2009 at 4:46 am
    Reply

    Why does DiskDigger find and recover photograph files that shoud be permanently deleted after shredding with Erase, Simple File shredder or File Shredder, even after using 35 Pass Gutmann? I have run Recuva, Portable GetData Recovery, Get DataBack for NTFS and countless other recovery software, they all show the files to be deleted and no preview available but DiskDigger finds and previews these files.
    All I want is for private family photograhs to remain just that private with no chance of recovery when deleted permanently.

Leave a Reply

Check the box to consent to your data being stored in line with the guidelines set out in our privacy policy

Please note that your comment may not appear immediately after you post it.