Facebook wants to access photos in your phone's camera roll for AI features

Ashwin Karthik
Updated •
Facebook

People object to AI being trained on content that they post on social networks, but now Meta has gone a step further. Facebook is asking users permission to access photos that are on their phone, for Meta's AI.

Users say that when they tried to post a new story on Facebook, a pop-up appears and asks if the user wants to opt into "cloud processing", which will allow creative suggestions. Choosing to allow it will grant access to your camera roll, i.e. images which you have never shared online.

Do you understand what that means? You don't even have to share a picture online, if it exists on your phone, the AI can access it. Meta will then use your images to create new ideas like collages, recaps, AI restyling, themes, etc. The problem is that the images will be sent to Facebook's servers on an ongoing basis, based on info like time, location, themes. Facebook says only the user can see the suggestions and that the media is not used for ads targeting. Does this also apply to WhatsApp, and Instagram?

One user says that Meta created an AI-generated "Memories" notification with an anime version of an image that he posted on Facebook. Another user from Europe replied to the post saying that a mail from Facebook and Instagram asked for permission to use photos, and that it had an option to object (decline). It is unclear if users from other regions have received similar notifications, from what I can tell the email seems to have only been sent to users in the EU.

TechCrunch reports that by tapping "Allow" when Facebook requests access to the Camera roll, users agree to Meta's AI terms of service, which means it can analyze your media, facial features, etc. It also gives Meta the right to retain and use any personal data you have shared to train its AI. And of course, the data will be reviewed, meaning Facebook employees could have access to the data.

Some users have advised disabling the option labeled "Get camera roll suggestions when you're browsing Facebook", which can be found under the Camera Roll. To access the option go to the top of your feed, tap + Create Story. Then tap on the cog wheel icon, and select the Camera Roll Sharing Suggestions.  You may notice a second option on the same page, this is the one that lets you disable "Get creative ideas made for you by allowing camera roll cloud processing". You may also want to check the official help documentation.

A Meta spokesperson told TechCrunch that "We’re exploring ways to make content sharing easier for people on Facebook by testing suggestions of ready-to-share and curated content from a person’s camera roll. These suggestions are opt-in only and only shown to you, unless you decide to share them, and can be turned off at any time. Camera roll media may be used to improve these suggestions, but are not used to improve AI models in this test".

That's not very reassuring. In fact, here's a screenshot from my friend's phone, who said, and I quote, "The setting was pre-enabled".

Facebook Camera Roll setting

What will it take to convince users not to use social networks, and AI?

Comments

  1. Tachy said on
    Reply

    Much like the “Find Hub” on android. I got an email from google saying I would be automatically enrolled.

    Even though I have “find my phone” disabled and I went through the steps described in the email to prevent enrollment, the “find Hub” app was installed on my phone and enabled outside of the regular updates without my knowledge.

    I know this because I’ve disabled automatic updating and always look at all updates before manually allowing them. When I manually checked for updates yesterday, there was an update for the new find hub app.

  2. SArmstrong said on
    Reply

    Phones are traditionally a disaster for privacy and security. There’s virtually zero genuine control by the end user regarding what happens on it; and I avoid storing anything on these things. On top of that, they can track and spy on you.

    But AI is, of course, an even greater menace, because it can automate the farming and processing of all the vast amount of information that is way too readily available. That this is then used for cheap fake content and annoyances only adds insult to the injury.

    In the long run, it seems that we need at least two PCs and two phones (a somewhat more private system and one more exposed).

  3. John C. said on
    Reply

    2004 conversation with Mark Zuckerberg I read about (surely he wouldn’t say such a thing!):

    Zuckerberg: Yeah so if you ever need info about anyone at Harvard, just ask. I have over 4,000 emails, pictures, addresses, SNS

    [Redacted Friend’s Name]: What? How’d you manage that one?

    Zuckerberg: People just submitted it. I don’t know why. They “trust me”. Dumb fucks.
    ____________________________________________________________________________
    I am black-balled from ever having a Facebook account, probably because I warned people that they should cancel their FB account after I destroyed all my data and closed my own account.

Leave a Reply

By commenting, you accept our privacy policy and keep the discussion respectful and on topic.