Up until now you had several options to create a Flickr account and sign in to the account afterwards. You could create a Yahoo account for that obviously, but also had options to sign up with your Facebook or Google account instead.
The last two options were a comfortable option for users who did not want to create a Yahoo account just for accessing Flickr but had no problems using their Facebook or Google account for that.
Flickr just published a message on the official website stating that the service will remove Facebook and Google sign-in options from the service.
What this means essentially is that Flickr users will not be able to use their Facebook or Google login information anymore to sign in to Flickr once the option is removed from the site.
As of right now, Flickr recommends to sign in one last time with the third-party account to create a Yahoo account in the process. This ensures that the data that you have uploaded and created on the site is not lost after the change goes live on the site.
The official help forum is already filling up with user questions and issues about the change. The official announcement thread has 555 replies at the time of writing.
Here are a few points about the change:
If you like our content, and would like to help, please consider making a contribution: