WhatsApp added a new feature to its messaging applications that you may use to delete messages that you sent already using the client.
Messages that you sent up until now could not not be deleted by you after the fact. There was no grace period to undo the sending, and it seems that users requested such a feature which works similarly to how email providers like Gmail provide undo options for a short period of time after sending messages.
This changes with the new deleting messages for everyone functionality that is implemented in the most recent versions of the WhatsApp client for Android, iOS and Windows Phone.
The new feature has requirements that need to be met.
WhatsApp won't notify you if the deleting of the message is not successful. It may still be deleted on the device that you are using, but it may not have been deleted on the recipients device. Also, recipients may still see the message before it is deleted.
So, how do you delete messages that you sent using WhatsApp?
The process is simple:
Deleted messages are marked as such in the conversation history along with the time they were deleted. There is no option to restore deleted messages however.
WhatsApp notes that the feature is rolling out currently. It may take a while before it is available to all users of the messaging service.
The option to delete messages is a handy one; you can delete messages that were sent in error, for instance to the wrong contact, or messages that you sent but want removed for other reasons.
The downside is that you will never know if the message was deleted successfully remotely, and whether the recipient of the message read it or not.
Ghacks is a technology news blog that was founded in 2005 by Martin Brinkmann. It has since then become one of the most popular tech news sites on the Internet with five authors and regular contributions from freelance writers.