Turn Wi-Fi back on automatically on Windows 10 - gHacks Tech News

Turn Wi-Fi back on automatically on Windows 10

Microsoft introduced a new feature in the Windows 10 Creators Update that gives users an option to turn Wi-Fi back on automatically after a set period of time.

It may sometimes be useful to turn off Wi-Fi on a device. Maybe you want to work without being interrupted by constant Facebook, Twitter or Pinterest pings, or want to turn off Wi-Fi to extend battery life somewhat.

Up until now you had to turn off Wi-Fi, and turn it back on, manually. That options is still there on Windows 10, but there is a new option that may make the process more comfortable for some users of the operating system.

Turn Wi-Fi back on automatically on Windows 10

wifi snooze

The workflow is the same mostly. Start by clicking on the wireless icon in the System Tray area of the Windows Taskbar.

Windows displays available access points to you provided that Wi-Fi is enabled. A click on the Wi-Fi icon toggles the feature. If Wi-Fi is enabled, it is turned off, and if it is disabled, it is turned back on.

When you disable Wi-Fi using the method, you get a new option that is called "Turn Wi-Fi back on". It is configured by default to manually. This means that you need to turn on Wi-Fi manually to make use of it again.

When you click on the menu however, you get options to schedule an automatic start of the device's Wi-Fi functionality. Options are provided to turn Wi-Fi back on after one or four hours, or a day.

Wi-Fi, and thus Internet, won't be available for the time period that you select, but will be available again afterwards if you select any option but manually from the menu.

Closing Words

The snooze feature is not essential, but it may be useful to Windows 10 users who turn off Wi-Fi regularly. The three time periods that are supported make this less useful than it could be, but there is always manual if you need to shut down Wi-Fi for a period of time that is not supported by the feature.

Summary
Turn Wi-Fi back on automatically on Windows 10
Article Name
Turn Wi-Fi back on automatically on Windows 10
Description
Microsoft introduced a new feature in the Windows 10 Creators Update that gives users an option to turn Wi-Fi back on automatically after a set period of time.
Author
Publisher
Ghacks Technology News
Logo

We need your help

Advertising revenue is falling fast across the Internet, and independently-run sites like Ghacks are hit hardest by it. The advertising model in its current form is coming to an end, and we have to find other ways to continue operating this site.

We are committed to keeping our content free and independent, which means no paywalls, no sponsored posts, no annoying ad formats or subscription fees.

If you like our content, and would like to help, please consider making a contribution:

Comments

  1. Elias Fotinis said on August 8, 2017 at 12:25 pm
    Reply

    I remember reading on Raymond Chen’s blog how frustratingly difficult it was to add or change functionality in older versions of Windows. He made it sound like they had to go through endless bureaucracy even for simple things like a single-pixel move or a minute change in a color shade. I wonder what the formal process for adding this feature was…

    Seriously, what’s the use cases that justified such a silly (IMHO) feature? Do they expect it to be utilized by more than 0.001% of the user base? This isn’t something I would expect to be baked into an Operating System (or a shell even). A hacker could probably do it in 2 lines of Powershell and then make a freeware for the 10-20 people in the world that would actually need it. *Hmmpfft and other grumpy noises*

    1. asd said on August 8, 2017 at 7:31 pm
      Reply

      in mobile this is extremely useful yet Google refuses to add it. You could sleep with no interruptions and wifi would turn on in the morning at a set time… I also can’t see the point in PC, and they add it… gaah…

  2. Matt said on August 8, 2017 at 2:53 pm
    Reply

    I turn off my wifi every night. I don’t like the idea of leaving my laptop on with wifi connected and unattended.

    1. wa said on August 8, 2017 at 6:05 pm
      Reply

      you never turn off the laptop?

  3. Jeff said on August 9, 2017 at 2:20 pm
    Reply

    Most people turn off their router, not the wifi on the client device so when the router is turned on, they automatically connect. Turning off Wifi on the client device is unnecessary?

    1. www.com said on August 10, 2017 at 10:40 am
      Reply

      Well that would require people to exercise by walking upstairs or downstairs where their router is located at and turn it off or on. Something that’s too much to ask of people nowadays where lifting a pinky can put many people into a tizzy.

    2. TinHat said on August 26, 2017 at 11:25 am
      Reply

      Switching off your router repeatedly causes your ISP to modify your broadband service as they believe you are experiencing line difficulties. So a normal fast setting and lower ping rates for example will be adjusted to a slower (stable speed) with higher ping values.

      It is NOT recommended to repeatedly switch of your router if you want the faster service you originally signed up for.

      1. Unclejolly said on September 18, 2017 at 8:35 pm
        Reply

        The statement above by TinHat is mostly false. While it could be true that in some scenarios, a certain provider could throttle you if they see your connection bouncing frequently (this would most likely occur only on a DSL or Cable connection), they are not going to take action when seeing the port go down at 10PM and then come up at 8AM the next day. That would definitely not be considering bouncing (multiple up/down transitions in a short time period). The blanket statement he/she made is largely inaccurate/untrue.

        It is also untrue that lower bitrates are directly correlated with ping values.

Leave a Reply

Check the box to consent to your data being stored in line with the guidelines set out in our privacy policy

Please note that your comment may not appear immediately after you post it.